Opening Weekend of the Delta Classical Series featuring pianist Garrick Ohlsson – In Concert at Atlanta Symphony Hall – Saturday, September 24, 2016

Grarrick Ohlsson
Grarrick Ohlsson

Music Director Robert Spano leads the opening weekend of the Delta Classical Series with special guest, pianist Garrick Ohlsson performing Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto, always an audience favorite. The performance will also include Sibelius’ Symphony No. 5 and John Adams’ Tromba lontana, part of our John Adams 70th birthday celebration.

Since his triumph as winner of the 1970 Chopin International Piano Competition, pianist Garrick Ohlsson has established himself worldwide as a musician of magisterial interpretive and technical prowess. Although long regarded as one of the world’s leading exponents of the music of Frédéric Chopin, Mr. Ohlsson commands an enormous repertoire, which ranges over the entire piano literature. A student of the late Claudio Arrau, Mr. Ohlsson has come to be noted for his masterly performances of the works of Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert, as well as the Romantic repertoire. To date he has at his command more than 80 concertos, ranging from Haydn and Mozart to works of the 21st century, many commissioned for him. This season that vast repertoire can be sampled in concerti ranging from Rachmaninoff’s popular Third and rarely performed Fourth, to Brahms Nos. 1 and 2, Beethoven, Mozart, Grieg and Copland in cities including Philadelphia, Atlanta, Detroit, Dallas, Miami, Toronto, Vancouver, San Francisco, Liverpool, and Madrid ending with a spring US West Coast tour with the St. Petersburg Philharmonic conducted by Yuri Temirkanov. In recital he can be heard in LA’s Walt Disney Concert Hall, New York, New Orleans, Hawaii and Prague.

When:            Saturday, September 24, 2016 – 8pm
Where:           Atlanta Symphony Hall – 1280 Peachtree Street – Atlanta, GA ( Directions )
Tickets:          $27 – $89

Buy Tickets Button

For more information visit or


Leave a Reply